Read the Bible in a month? Have I lost my mind?

I’ve decided to read the Bible in the month of December. That’s right, the entire Bible. All 66 chapters in one 30-day period.

What inspired me to undertake this challenge? Well, I’ve been wanting to be more faithful in scripture reading. The other night, Jerry (the pastor of my church) was talking about the importance of having a Bible reading plan. It can allow people to have a strategy for reading all of the “Good Book” in the course of a year, rather than just cherry picking favorite books.

In the past year, I lost over 30 pounds and got into shape. But it served me to go at it whole-hog rather than just trying to make small changes in diet and fitness. Would a “shock and awe” approach serve me in deepening my devotional life? Why not try an experiment? One where I am the lab rat being evaluated.

This line of thinking intersected with some conversations with my son Zack about NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), where young people try to write a 50,000-word book in 30 days. Could I read a 783,137-word book in a month? If so, what impact might the task have on me?

I’m recording my experience primarily for my own benefit, but thought there might be some value in opening up the process to others. Sure, I’m taking something of the risk here (“There’s the loser who said he was going to read the Bible in a month, but quit two days later.”) but maybe it could provide me some accountability, and inspire others to try an exploit all their own.

Is there adventure that you’re inching to undertake?  Let me know what you think.

One Response to Read the Bible in a month? Have I lost my mind?

  1. […] usually not a big fan of stunts or “stupid human tricks.”  Though some might think my Bible-In-A-Month Challenge falls into this kind of […]

Leave a Reply

