Here goes nothing: Bible-in-a-month challenge, 1 of 30

Day 1 — Genesis 1:1-38:12

This morning was the first day of my attempt to read the entire Bible in a month.  May be biting off more than I can chew, but what the heck.

To get through the 1,094 pages of scripture in my beat-up NIV Bible, I need to average around 37 pages per day through December.  I’ve decided to start at the beginning, and work my way through to Revelations.  Many Bible reading plans encourage alternating content between Old and New Testaments to achieve a balanced spiritual diet (which is probably a good idea typically).   But I’m looking to get a broad overview, and think it will be easier to keep track of my progress this way.

Yesterday, I timed myself reading a few pages to get an idea of how long it would take to read my daily 37 pages.  Based on my calculations, I figured it would take me about two hours each day.

Today, I got up at 5:30 am, fortified myself with strong coffee and breakfast cereal, and got down to business.  By 7:30, I achieved my goal which took me from the creation of the world in Genesis 1 to the story of Judah and Tamar in Genesis 38.

I really enjoyed getting reacquainted with so many biblical characters in one setting, and seeing their relationship to one another.  Adam, Abraham, Isaac, Jacob … they are key players in the drama of redemptive history.  But of course, God is the star of this page-turner.  I was freshly touched by his patience in dealing with his people who are so foolish and so sinful.  People like me.

One day down, 29 to go.  So far so good.

7 Responses to Here goes nothing: Bible-in-a-month challenge, 1 of 30

  1. Pat says:

    You need a progress meter. Want me to create you one?

  2. Janice Larson says:

    Boy, I need something like this, because I’m way behind on my daily reading plan, but would feel much better I think about knowing I can do it in 30 days! I need ACCOUNTABILITY. I think I’ll join you.

  3. Ryan says:

    Oh Dave! I am so stoked for ya. What a great way to keep the momentum going too… posting here and letting others observe your progress.

    Just awesome bro.

  4. Jerry says:

    Love it! I am provoked. Maybe we should all consider if reading the Bible twice a year, or even once a year, ought not be a very manageable task when we consider how little time it actually takes. Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

