Physical fitness and The Prayer of Jabez: Bible-in-a-month challenge, 10 of 30

Day 10 –2 Kings 11:23-1 Chronicles 19:15

My thrice weekly fitness routine was one of the things I had to deal with to free up two hours each morning for Bible reading.  Instead of going to Lifestyle Family Fitness at 6:00 am, I now am using the workout room at the office building where I work during my lunch hour on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

The equipment isn’t the greatest, and I need some extra deodorant so I don’t offend my co-workers, but it should meet my needs through the month of December.  I had thought about canning the workout altogether for the month, but my recent bout with high blood sugar meant I need to maintain some degree of fitness.

As I was reading through the lists and genologies of 1 Chronicles, I ran into “The Prayer of Jabez” which inspired the best-selling book.  To be honest, I haven’t read the book, but it seems that many Christians felt that there was too much attention given to a relatively minor passage.

The verses did jump out to me, in part, because they are different from the surrounding content which does seem like of a bookkeeper.  It’s a fine prayer, to be sure, but I can’t imagine making it a major focus of my life.

What do you think?  Have you read “The Prayer of Jabez?”  I’d be interested in your opinion.

Leave a Reply

