P.S.: Bible-in-a-month challenge, 29 of 30

Day 31

Today is the day after I completed my challenge.

Being a day off, I slept in, and had a relaxing breakfast with my family.  Rather than the fact-paced two hours of reading I have done each day for the past month, I brought everyone together in the living room for some “quiet time.”  Nothing structured, just an opportunity to encounter God in his Word.

I had no structured assignment for today, so I kind of meandered through the Bible, reading a little hear and there.  I took out the trusty business card I’ve used for the last 30 days to help me focus on each passage as it raced past, and looked at some of the notes I’d written down.  I had jotted down verses that I wanted to study at a more leisurely pace.

The change in approach was very enjoyable.  Though I’ve had a big diet of Bible study recently, I’m happy that my hunger remains.  In fact, I think it has grown.

Will this endeavor turn out to be a flash-in-the-pan, or will it provide lasting fruit?  Only time will tell.  But I’ll be on the look out for new growth that will herald a harvest to come.

2 Responses to P.S.: Bible-in-a-month challenge, 29 of 30

  1. Derick Henderson says:

    Read all your blogs. Congrats on completing the challenge, and thanks for including us in your experience! You have inspired to tackle a similar project: the Bible I’m 2 months. Starting Monday morning, 1/4/10.

Leave a Reply

