Book review: Bark of the Bog Owl

I love books. Always have. During Summer vacations, it wouldn’t be unusual at all for me to pick up a book after breakfast, and read it non-stop until bed time.

Now that I’m a father of four, I want my kids to have a love for books too. So, I recently began to review some Christian fiction written for young people in hopes of finding some books I could recommend to my kids.

The Bark of the Bog Owl by Jonathan Rogers is the first in a series called The Wilderking Trilogy. It’s a retelling of the early life of the biblical David, for the most part, set in a land called Corenwald. The setting is based on the landscape of the author’s home state of Georgia.

The hero of the tale is 12-year-old Aiden, the youngest son of noble, who dreams of the drama of sword fights among valiant armies, but spends most of his time fighting boredom as a shepherd to the family’s flock. That tranquil world is turned upside down when Aiden is identified as the long-prophesied Wilderking by an eccentric visiting seer.

There’s plenty of vivid characters in The Bark of the Bog Owl, including the feechiefolk, an untamed people who populate the alligator-infested swamps that border the lands owned by Aiden’s family.  Add in battles, heart-pounding action and surprising heroics by the young protagonist, and this story is sure to entrall your young readers.

Best of all, the biblical themes and Aiden’s passion for the One True God, his country and his family make The Bark of the Bog Owl a book that Christian parents can feel good having on their kids’ bookshelf.

Or better yet, in their hands as they lose themselves in a fanciful adventure during a lazy Summer day.

2 Responses to Book review: Bark of the Bog Owl

  1. Jenn Collette says:

    So what age group should be reading this book? I love this idea. I never really had a love of reading as a child, but it something I want to work on as an adult. I want to do the same thing you are for my boys. When Alistair was just one year old I started reading him children’s literature at bedtime, a chapter a night. We read Stuart Little, A Wrinkle in Time, The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe, Prince Caspian and made it halfway through Voyage of the Dawn Treader. This post has inspired me to pick up where I left off. Thanks for the review!

    Let me know if you want to borrow any of our books. Dan and I bot took Children’s Lit. at USF. Part of the work included reading “chapter books”. We have a small selection, but you might find something interesting.

Leave a Reply

