Embarrassing self-disclosure #1: Strange affinity for traditional Québécois music

I do not speak French. I have never been to the province of Quebec. But for some strange reason, I have an ardent affection for a song called “Le Ziguezon Zinzon” by a Canadian folk band called La Bottine Souriante (the smiling boot)

For years now, I have returned to YouTube again and again to listen to this enigmatic tune.  The only instrumentation is rhythmic foot taping. I do not understand a word of the lyrics. As you can imagine, I am deeply mortified by my passion for this song. But I’m at a loss to how to break its mysterious spell over me.

I need your help. Please give this little ditty a spin, and let me know if you have any insights as to why I’m afflicted with this melody malady.

5 Responses to Embarrassing self-disclosure #1: Strange affinity for traditional Québécois music

  1. Susan says:

    . . . so WHEN do you listen to this ?

  2. Mark Altrogge says:

    Dave, I think the song reveals the true meaning of “hoser”

    • David Wilson says:

      You may be right Mark. Nice McKenzie brothers reference … you reached way back for that one! Not enough mentions of “The Great White North” nowadays.
      Dave

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by David Wilson, David Wilson. David Wilson said: I am never going to live this down, but I'm desperate here. http://ow.ly/2hSZ0 […]

Leave a Reply

