Should you take a look at your daughter’s books?

For the life of every creature is its blood: its blood is its life. Therefore I have said to the people of Israel, You shall not eat the blood of any creature, for the life of every creature is its blood. Whoever eats it shall be cut off.
(Leviticus 17:14 ESV)

Sorry Team Edward, scripture would suggest that the Lord is no Twilight fan. But this series has spawned an avalanche of vampire, werewolf, witch and necromancer novels that are wildly popular with readers … especially pre-teen and teen girls.

“But for crying out loud, these books are PRETEND. Nothing wrong with a little imagination, right?”  Mark Driscoll thinks there are reasons for parents to be discerning.

Watch the video below, and let me know what you think.

8 Responses to Should you take a look at your daughter’s books?

  1. JMJ says:

    Watched the video. I am a mid 30s father of a 4yo. i’m not there yet having to police my daughter, but since she’s a voracious reader, I’m sure I will have to.

    I myself am a lover of fiction, having read the harry potter series from books 4-7 on each of their release dates.

    Furthermore, I enjoy my tv, movies and music.

    Having said this, I have put a lot of thought into my consumptions and how this balances with my faith. I have come to the conclusion that since I am fairly mature, having lived for 30+ years, 20+ as a believer, that I can separate fiction from reality and faith from entertainment. But I have to be careful. I willfully have to stop myself from reading and/or watching things that affect me, in terms of personal purity, etc.

    What I am saying, is that I know my boundaries, and I am prepared to stop short of them.

    In terms of my daughter, my wife (who like me is a consumer of books/tv and music) and I have decided to read as much as possible of what our daughter reads, or at least read about it, and we’ve decided to try to get her to talk to us about what she reads.

    This is all theoretical now, since she’s 4, but we hope and pray that we raise a godly, thinking, young woman, that is also able to stay within her boundaries.

    • David Wilson says:

      Thanks for your great comment.

      I don’t think you can ever get involved too early in you child’s choice of reading materials. Certainly, you want to be mindful of the types of things they find most interesting. But as parents, we have the privilege and responsibility to see that our kids are consuming things that nourish them spiritually.

      As the father of four kids, aged 22 to 12, the task can become tiring. But God gives all the grace I need, if I’m willing to receive it.

      Dave

  2. Hey Dave,

    I agree – it does get tiring at times, but we must do our best to be vigilant “gatekeepers” over what our kids take in through the media.

    I have a friend who was so in the habit of jumping up in front of the TV and yelling “buh – buh – buh!” if something bad came on and he couldn’t switch the remote fast enough, that he forgot where he was once and did the same thing in a theater in an afternoon matinee with his kids when an inappropriate scene came on the screen….

  3. thejambi says:

    Really liked this video clip – hadn’t seen it before. Thanks for posting. Got here via AoM.

  4. Paul Fernell says:

    Interesting video. My sister absolutely will not permit her daughters to read the Twilight books, but I’m not so sure myself. Seems like we might get more accomplished by reading the books, and then discussing it, to see how it corresponds (or doesn’t) with our faith, and working from there.

  5. David Wilson says:

    Hey Paul,

    Talking to your kids about entertainment choices is always a good idea!

    Dave

Leave a Reply

