Imagination is a good thing. Except when it’s not.

Imagine there’s no Heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today

I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever
Forever worship You
I can only imagine

Imagination can help our minds soar to heavenly realms where our hearts are aflame with worship. But sometimes we book ourselves on a flight of fancy that crashes into harmful deception.

What is the place of imagination in your life?

4 Responses to Imagination is a good thing. Except when it’s not.

  1. Reagan says:

    All right, I’m a manly man. I’m a truck driver and move furniture for a living. I lift weights and my sport is rock climbing. Just saying.

    But, I can admit that whenever I encounter this song in worship I cannot help weeping for joy. I am so hungry for heaven and being with God. I love my life, but it holds nothing compared to the anticipation of that great day.

    Just saw MercyMe in concert in Des Moines, IA. They rocked. They played this song and yes, I wept.

    • David Wilson says:

      Hey Reagan,

      Thanks for your comment. I think tears of joy are a good sign that you’re getting a glimpse of heaven in your mind’s eye. Not weeping at the eternal doesn’t make you a guy a manly man … it makes him a blind man.

      Thanks again,
      Dave

  2. Mark Altrogge says:

    Good post, Dave! Isn’t it amazing how every good gift God gives including imagination, has been distorted in some way by sin. Yet when he redeems us, we can begin to use his gifts for his glory.

Leave a Reply

