The Hymn of the Legalist

Jesus Paid It Some

I hear the Savior say,
“You’re not doing enough;
Work your fingers to the bone,
I will save those who are tough.”

Jesus paid it some
I will do the rest
Sin had left a crimson stain
Now I will give my best

For now indeed I’ll try
To earn your love and grace
I’ll add the works I have
To complete the price you paid.

REFRAIN

And when before the throne
I’ll give my deeds to you,
I’ll hope I’ve done enough
To make you let me through.

REFRAIN (3x just to be sure)

If you struggle with legalism, you’ll definitely relate to this song. Stephen Altrogge turned the worship tune “Jesus Paid It All” upside down to come up with these lyrics. He and his father, Mark Altrogge, tag-team The Blazing Center blog. Check it out, subscribe, and benefit from their insights on faith, worship and life.

2 Responses to The Hymn of the Legalist

  1. John says:

    hey, nice blog…really like it and added to bookmarks. keep up with good work

Leave a Reply

