Old Spice Guy gets his blend on …

The Old Spice Guy got a lot of attention for his over-the-top machismo. Here, his favored scent gets the “Will It Blend?” treatment from the folks at Blendtec.

I got a chuckle out of the Old Spice Guy’s challenge to “Smell like a man, man!” But the truth is that as Christian guy, I’m not called to smell like a man. I’m called to smell like the Son of Man:

But thanks be to God, who in Christ always leads us in triumphal procession, and through us spreads the fragrance of the knowledge of him everywhere. For we are the aroma of Christ to God among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing, to one a fragrance from death to death, to the other a fragrance from life to life.
(2 Corinthians 2:14-16 ESV)

Does this make scents? Or does my theology stink?

5 Responses to Old Spice Guy gets his blend on …

  1. Jeff says:

    This video ranks among the most ridiculous I’ve ever seen. It’s nowhere near funny.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by David Wilson, David Wilson. David Wilson said: Theological insight courtesy of a blender and the @oldspice guy: http://ow.ly/2SCh8 […]

  3. Emily says:

    I scents a marketing opportunity!

  4. Chris says:

    I didn’t make it through the commercial, Dave. I got caught up in your statement: “I’m called to smell like the Son of Man.”

    Sin stinks. The smell is hard to shake. But thanks be to God…

  5. David Wilson says:

    Jeff – my blog definitely has more than its fair share of ridiculous!

    Emily – you clearly have a nose for sniffing out puns.

    Chris – I believe the more we abide in Christ, the more his fragrance will permeate our lives!

Leave a Reply

