Does God scare the piss out of you?

Like doves of the valleys,
they will all moan,
each for their own sins.
Every hand will go limp;
every leg will be wet with urine.
They will put on sackcloth
and be clothed with terror.

Ezekiel 7:16-17

I’m not trying to be needlessly crude here, but the wrath of God is a terrifying thing. In fact, wetting your pants is probably the least of your worries if his righteous anger is directed toward you.

As Christians, Jesus rescued us from the wrath of God with his sacrifice upon the cross. So now we can run to the Bride Groom instead of the restroom.

If you’re looking for deep theological insights, you’re probably in the wrong place. If you’re okay with shallow, subscribe for free updates so you don’t miss out on anything.

4 Responses to Does God scare the piss out of you?

  1. Hey Dave,

    I can’t imagine the wrath of God…but I’m so glad Jesus delivered me from it.

    “So now we can run to the Bride Groom instead of the restroom.” I think you have potential as a country song writer.

  2. BooBoo says:

    I’m going to have to do some studying. I know that the KJV has a lot of euphemisms, but that is my preferred translation; I do not ignore and/or condemn other translations. The NKJV renders “every leg will be wet with urine” as “…every knee will be as weak as water”. I have an email with about 15 different translations, and I compared the above verse (NIV) with 9 others. The NIV is the only one that renders the original word otherwise translated as “water” to “urine.” I’m not ready to say that “urine” is an incorrect translation; I’m just not ready to say it is a CORRECT translation.

    Please keep doing these writings! I enjoy reading what you’ve written!

    • David Wilson says:

      BooBoo,

      You’re right about the translations … “every knee will be as weak as water” may be the better rendering of that passage. That said, the terrifying nature of the wrath of God comes through loud and clear in Ezekiel 7.

      I’m so glad that we’re spared even a drop from the cup of God’s wrath because of Jesus, aren’t you?

      Thanks much for your comment!

      Dave

Leave a Reply

