Astride a girl’s bike, Dr. No learns to say yes

Son:  Hey, Dad. Let’s ride bikes over to the cafe and get some smoothies. You can ride Leah’s bike.

No, it’s too far.

No, it’s too cold.

No, it’s too windy.

No, I’m too old.

No, I’m too proud to be seen riding a girl’s bike.

Me:  Sounds great buddy. Let’s do it.

I did ride the bike with my son to get smoothies. And yes, it was too far, too cold, too windy. But the old man rode a girl’s bike along the busy street, legs pumping furiously, getting soaked by a sprinkler system spraying well water that smelled like poop.

To be honest, I say “no” to my family and friends all go often. I decline opportunities to spend time with them, love them, serve them.

Call me Dr. No.

But James Bond can’t defeat my villainous heart. It takes God’s grace that comes from encouragement like:

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.

Philippians 2:3-4

How about you? What’s your secret weapon against the “Dr. No” in you?

3 Responses to Astride a girl’s bike, Dr. No learns to say yes

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by David Wilson, David Wilson. David Wilson said: Astride a girl's bike, Dr. No learns to say yes: http://t.co/Z7eRP5v […]

  2. […] don’t miss out on insights on Jesus’ bellybutton, bacon, and the manly way to ride a girl’s bike, sign up for FREE updates via email from Faces Of […]

  3. Leah(the awsome daughter) says:

    I clearly remember that just the week before you were telling me that my bike is a guys-bike! ~Leah P.S.Now my bike is rusty and smells like poop ;(

Leave a Reply

