Time management tips from the Grinch

“The nerve of those Whos. Inviting me down there, on such short notice. Even if I wanted to go, my schedule wouldn’t allow it! (flips his datebook open)

4:00: Wallow in self-pity.

4:30: Stare into the abyss.

5:00: Solve world hunger. Tell no one!

5:30: Jazzercise.

6:30: dinner with me. I can’t cancel that again!

7:00: wrestle with my self-loathing… I’m booked!

Of course, if I bump the loathing to 9:00, I’ll probably still have time to lie in my bed, stare at the ceiling and slip slowly into madness. But what would I wear?!”

Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling. Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.

1 Peter 4:8-10

Although the Bible calls me to offer hospitality without grumbling, all too often my attitude towards having people over to the house is positively Grinch-like. My schedule just seems too cramped to allow for much entertaining. (Although I seem to have plenty of time to slip slowly into madness.)

But I don’t think that the problem is that my schedule is too full. It’s that my heart is too empty.

If I’m going to faithfully steward “God’s grace in its various forms,” I need to love others deeply.

Any suggestions on how I can grow in faithfulness in showing hospitality?

4 Responses to Time management tips from the Grinch

  1. Hey Dave,

    Good post. Sounds like my schedule only I didn’t see coffee in there anywhere. Lots of times I don’t feel like being with the Lord’s people if I’m tired or have been busy. But he always responds when I pray and ask him for grace to look to the interests of others and for grace to try to encourage and serve others. And believe me, I need that grace, as selfish as I am.

    • David Wilson says:

      Mark,

      I’m surprised that this would be an issue with you folks in Lancaster County. Aren’t you guys always getting together for quilting and barn-raising? 😉

      Dave

  2. JC says:

    How did you get a copy of my day timer?

Leave a Reply

