Did Josh Harris re-title his book to ride the coat tails of the Pirates of the Caribbean movie franchise?

As I’ve mentioned in an earlier blog post, I’m a big fan of Joshua Harris’ latest book on the importance of sound theology.

What I’m not a big fan of, however, is his chronic changing of his book titles. He owned up to this compulsion recently when another blogger called him on this odd practice.

The book Not Even A Hint became Sex Is Not The Problem. Then, it was changed back again. Stop Dating The Church morphed into Why Church Matters.

When will the madness end?

Not yet, it seems.

In an apparent attempt to confuse buyers into thinking his latest book is a biography of the star of the insanely popular Pirates of the Caribbean movie series, Dug Down Deep has been renamed Dug Down Depp. Make no mistake, Johnny Depp has nothing to do with Harris’ book.

But you know what the real scandal is? That I made the whole thing up.

Well, not the part about the changes to the earlier book titles. But Dug Down Deep is still Dug Down Deep. And it’s still a darn good book that you should buy right away.

Say … you know what else has been re-titled? My blog.

The awkwardly named FacesOfLions.wordpress.com is now FacesOfLions.net. And it’s not just the name that has been changed. It’s a new website with all manner of shiny buttons and stuff to go along with the usual nonsense I foist upon unsuspecting folks.

The old site that you’re reading this post on will soon be retired. So, CLICK HERE to visit the new site and subscribe so you don’t miss out on anything!

7 Responses to Did Josh Harris re-title his book to ride the coat tails of the Pirates of the Caribbean movie franchise?

  1. Very funny.

    I didn’t know he changed his titles. That’s so annoying.

  2. Oh, and, I got the certificate for the video. Thanks.

  3. Pretty funny, Dave. I think Joshua should change the name of his church from Covenant Life to what I call it – Covenant Mall. Of course, I call it that out of jealousy, since our whole church building could probably fit into one of their men’s rooms.

  4. David Wilson says:

    Mark,

    It is pretty ginormous. I think the escalator in the men’s room was a bit over the top.

    Dave

  5. Joseph says:

    Hi Dave,

    I found your blog from a link on Jon Morrow’s GuestBlogging.com site. You have a great looking blog here. Let me know if you have any interest in switching to self-hosting with a premium theme. I can install one of the Studiopress themes at a great price, and I think it would look great on your site.

    If not, keep enjoying Christ. πŸ™‚ He’s head over all things to the Church. πŸ™‚

    Joseph

    • David Wilson says:

      Hi Joseph,

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Thanks for the offer regarding help with the site. Actually, I think you missed the part of the above post where I mentioned that I had done just that. Feel free to drop by FacesOfLions.net and let me know if you have any suggestions.

      Thanks,
      Dave

Leave a comment